Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Select Page

Notre Dame College announces that Dr. J. Michael Pressimone has voluntarily resigned from his position as President to pursue new opportunities. On his resignation, Dr. Pressimone shared, “It has been my profound honor and pleasure to serve the students, faculty and staff of Notre Dame College.”  While his resignation is effective as of October 31, 2023, Dr. Pressimone will be on sabbatical through the end of December. The College thanks him for his dedication and service to our mission and wishes him the best in all his future endeavors.

John J. Smetanka, Ph.D., currently Provost and Dean of Faculty, will serve as interim President, effective immediately. Additionally, John Galovic will continue to serve as Liaison to the President, providing additional continuity for staff, faculty, and students.

“In the year and a half that Dr. Smetanka has been with Notre Dame College, his commitment to our students and our mission has shone through,” said Terri Eason, board chair for Notre Dame College. “We are confident that Dr. Smetanka will serve our students and the college well as interim President, bringing a wealth of experience in student-centered learning, college administration, strategic planning, recruiting, fundraising, and managing finances.”

Prior to joining Notre Dame College, Smetanka served as Vice President of Academic Affairs and Academic Dean at St. Vincent College in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, where he also held the faculty rank of associate professor in the Department of Physics, and served as department chair, director of the honors program and director of the liberal arts program. He first joined the faculty of St. Vincent College in 1997.

“I am honored to serve Notre Dame College in this new capacity and look forward to working together with our dedicated faculty and staff who feel the same way I do – that our students’ success is our top priority,” said Dr. Smetanka.

Smetanka earned a Bachelor of Science in physics from Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh and completed a Master of Science and doctorate in astronomy and astrophysics both from the University of Chicago.