Commencement Speakers Since 1940

1940 Rev. Aloysius J. Hogan, SJ, Dean, Georgetown University Graduate School (joint commencement with Catholic colleges)
1941 Rt. Rev. Msgr. John P. Treacy (joint commencement with Catholic colleges) 1942 Rev. John E. Reardon, SJ, Associate Editor, Jesuit Mission Press
1942 (February—accelerated for WWII) Thomas A. Ryan, Attorney
1943 (August—accelerated for WWII) The Hon. James C. Connell, Judge, Common Pleas, Cleveland, Ohio
1943 Rt. Rev. Msgr. John P. Treacy, Society for the Propagation of the Faith
1944 Augustus F. O’Neil, Special Assistant., US District Attorney
1945 Paul C. Bartholomew, Dept. of Political Science, University of Notre Dame 1946 Rt. Rev. Msgr. Paul J. Glenn, Rector, College of St. Charles Borromeo, Columbus, Ohio
1947 Very Rev. Patrick J. Holloran, SJ, STL, President, St. Louis University
1948 George P. Hausser, The Cleveland Plain Dealer
1949 Rev. Francis J. McGlynn, Pastor, St. Thomas Aquinas Church
1950 Rev. Michael J. Murphy, STL, Vice Rector, St. Mary’s Seminary
1951 Rev. Michael J. Murphy, STL, Vice Rector, St. Mary’s Seminary
1952 Rev. Anthony N. Fuerst, S.T.D., Professor of Dogmatic Theology and Catechetics, St. Mary’s Seminary
1953 1953 Rev. Eugene M. Burke, C.S.P., S.T.D., Associate professor of Dogmatic Theology, Catholic University of America
1954 1954 Rt. Rev. Michael J. Murray, S.T.L., Vice Rector of St. Mary’s Seminary
1955 Very Rev. John F. Whealon, STL, SSL, Rector, Borromeo Seminary
1956 1956 Rt. Rev. Msgr. Robert B. Navin, S.T.D., Ph.D., President of St. John College
1957 Joseph B. McAllister, S.T.B., Ph.D.
1958 Ralph M. Besse, President, Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co.
1959 Rev. Msgr. Raymond J. Gallagher
1960 Ralph M. Besse, President, Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co.
1961 Very Rev. Monsignor Lawrence F. Cahill, President, St. John College
1962 Most Rev. James W. Malone, Auxiliary Bishop of Youngstown, Ohio
1963 Mr. Philip Scharper, Former Associate editor of Commonweal, Editor-in-chief of Sheed and Ward
1964 The Honorable Judge George J. McMonagle, Court of Common Please
1965 Dr. Vincent Edward Smith,
1966 Very Rev. Hugh E. Dunn, S.J., President, John Carroll University
1967 Louis B. Seltzer, Editor, The Cleveland Press, Ohio
1968 Paul W. Briggs, Superintendent, Cleveland Public Schools
1969 The Honorable James V. Stanton, President, Cleveland City Council
1970 The Honorable Charles A. Vanik, Ohio Representative, Congress
1971 The Honorable Frank J. Celebreeze, U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit
1972 Leona Bevis, Associate Director for Planning, United Appeal of Greater Cleveland
1973 Anthony J. Iezzi, Associate Professor of Philosophy, St. John’s College
1974 Reverend Monsignor A. James Quinn, Cleveland Diocesan Council of Administration
1975 The Honorable Ann McManamon, Cleveland Municipal Court
1976 Mrs. Dorothy Schmitt Gauchat ’43, Director, Our Lady of the Wayside
1977 The Honorable Mary Rose Oakar, United States House of Representatives, Ohio
1978 Reverend Cornelius O’Brien, Notre Dame Institute, Middleburg, Virginia
1979 The Most Reverend Bishop Gilbert Sheldon, Auxiliary Bishop of Cleveland 1980 The Reverend Henry Birkenhauer, President, John Carroll University
1981 Gloria Karpinski Battisti ’47, M.S.W.
1982 The Honorable Dennis E. Eckart, Congressional Representative, 22nd District, Ohio
1983 The Honorable Ann Dyke, Judge, Common Pleas Court, Cuyahoga County, Ohio
1984 The Most Reverend William A. Hughes, Bishop of Covington
1985 Sr. Christine Vladimiroff, Diocesan Secretary for Education, Cleveland
1986 Doreen Gentzler, Cleveland television newscaster
1987 Dr. Mary Helen Washington ’62, author, editor, professor
1988 The Honorable Mary Rose Oakar, United States Congresswoman, Ohio 20th District
1989 Sr. Clare Fitzgerald, SSND, Graduate Department of Education, Boston College
1990 Dr. Olga Elena Mendel, Community Affairs Director, Associate Professor of Spanish, D’Youville College, Buffalo, New York
1991 Judge Patricia Gaughan, Judge, Court of Common Pleas, Cuyahoga County, Ohio
1992 Denise Knecht, Attorney at Law, Cleveland, Ohio
1993 Dr. Jerry Sue Owens, President, Cuyahoga Community College, Ohio
1994 Dr. Marye Anne Payne Fox ’69; Research Chemist and Associate Professor, University of Texas at Austin
1995 Jeanette Grasselli Brown, retired Director of Corporate Research & Analytical Science at BP America, Visiting Professor and Director of Research Enhancement, Ohio University
1996 Sister Mary Frances Murray ’64, Provincial Superior, Sisters of Notre Dame, Chardon, Ohio
1997 Mercedes Karpinski Spotts ’75, Court Administrator, Eighth District Court of Appeals, Ohio
1998 Barbara J. Danforth, Executive Director, YWCA of Cleveland, Ohio
1999 Georgie Anne Geyer, journalist, author on international affairs
2000 Rt. Rev. Bishop Anthony Pilla, Cleveland Diocese
2001 Barbara Byrd-Bennett, CEO, Cleveland Public School District
2002 The Honorable Stephanie Tubbs Jones, Ohio Congresswoman, D-11
2003 Jane L. Campbell, Mayor of Cleveland, Ohio
2004 Ronn Richard, President, The Cleveland Foundation
2005 Katie McBrearty ’05, Representative of the Notre Dame College Pioneer Class Deborah Sheren, Assistant Professor of Business & Information Systems Justin Tisdale ’05, Representative of the Notre Dame College Pioneer Class
2006 Sandra Pianalto, President & CEO, Federal Reserve Bank, Cleveland
2007 Stephanie A. McGruder ’07, M.Ed., St. Catherine of Alexandria Award Recipient Manuel A. Santiago, Jr. ’07, B.A., Sr. LeRoy Finn Award Recipient Christian Taske ’07, B.A., Sr. Mary Agnes Bosche Award Recipient

E.g., 06/22/19
E.g., 06/22/19