Class Notes





Members of the Class of 1965 are busy planning their 50th reunion, which will take place during the College’s Homecoming & Alumni Reunion Weekend October 2-4. A committee of dedicated women has been meeting for years to make this event special for their classmates and has already raised $25,000 to establish the Great Women of ’65 Endowed Scholarship. The committee set a meeting to go over raffle and silent auction items provided by Joyce Futty Koledge ’65 on Friday, May 22, exactly 50 years from their graduation on May 22, 1965. The women were surprised by cake and champagne provided by the Alumni Office to commemorate their special anniversary. Pictured are committee members Pat Opaskar ’65, Jeanne Lubecke Bystricky ’65, Phyllis Duffy Zala ’65 and Anne Meissner ’65.






In February 2015, Lynn Berry ’70 visited Rosemary Ryan Stechschulte ’70 in West Palm Beach, Fla. They were joined by their classmates and Providence Hall roommates Louise Corcoran Miljenovic ’70, Marlene McCauley DeBlasio ’70 and Fran Giallombardo Hyatt ’70.



Sr. Kathleen McDonnell, SND, ’73 was named 2015 Northeast Region Instructor of the Year by the Ohio Association of Adult and Continuing Education.



Cathy Zupancic Bush ’85 and Edie Kohowski Jonas ’85 want to see all the members of the Class of 1985 at the upcoming Homecoming & Alumni Reunion Weekend October 2-4. Homecoming invitations are forthcoming. Email edieh04@hotmail. com with information on 1985 classmates: Monica Hart, Robin Hutchens-Williams, Gloria Johnson, Mary Lucey Koliszar, Ann Koronich, Gail Michalowicz, Mikiko Morimoto Miura, Mary Elliott Nunnally, Susan Marvinney Reid, Harlescia Robinson, Cindy Smith, Michele Toth and Wanda May Jackson.




1990 Group


In January 2015, Carole Iseli ’90 joined Sr. Carol Dikovitsky ’70, Sr. Jacquelyn Gusdane ’64 and Sr. Kathleen Tobin and associates for an eight-day partnership pilgrimage to the Sisters of Notre Dame (SND) mission in Jinotega, Nicaragua. The week included SND missionaries Sr. Charlotte Hobelman ’84 and Sr. Dolores Mikula ’89.


1990 Couple1990

Diana de la Rosa-Miklic ’90 was honored by the Notre Dame Alumni Association as the 2015 Alumna of the Year. The award was presented at the Annual Spring Luncheon and Business Meeting. Diana received this award for her outstanding devotion to Notre Dame and its alumni, as well as her civic and professional achievements. She has served as member of the Alumni Board, president of the Alumni Association and member of the College’s Board of Trustees and is president of La Mesa Española. Diana works as a talent acquisition consultant for AMRESCO LLC/VWR in Solon, Ohio.



Vickey Yates Milligan ’01 received her doctorate with Presidential Distinction in general psychology from Capella University on March 6, 2015. Her dissertation investigated “Women and Spirituality: A Phenomenological Study.” She currently resides in Galion, Ohio, with her husband, three cats and one dog. She is an adjunct faculty member with North Central State College and is excited to return to Notre Dame in fall 2015 as an adjunct instructor.



After working for two years at TCP Inc. as a master data manager, Vanya Neykova- McNamara ’06 recently decided to return to Sherwin- Williams. Vanya and her husband, Patrick, celebrated eight years of marriage in January. The couple welcomed Angelina Sophie McNamara on September 7, 2014, weighing 6 pounds and 1 ounce and measuring 19.5 inches. She joins her brother, Svetlin Alexander, who is now 6 years old.



2009 baby2009

Philomena Meluch O’Hare ’09 and her husband, Bill, welcomed Edward Jameson on April 1, 2015, at 10 a.m., weighing 6 pounds and 3 ounces and measuring 19.5 inches.



2010 baby2010

Marco Caponi ’10 and his wife, Tiffany Patrick Caponi, who met at Notre Dame, welcomed their first child, a son named Lucca Enrico Caponi born on January 18, 2015. The couple will celebrate their second anniversary on June 29, 2015.



2010 Wedding2010

Michael Giuseppe Mannozzi ’10 married Jemema Caratao on October 10, 2014, at the St. James Meeting House in Boardman, Ohio. The reception followed at Mill Creek Park in Youngstown, Ohio. Zachary Fenell ’09 served as the best man. Michael recently earned his eighth USA National Title at the USA 40km Race Walk National Championships.



2011 family2011

Ashley Rucker Rivera ’11 and her husband, Jose Rivera, who met as students at Notre Dame, welcomed their second child together, Easton Jose Rivera, on January 8, 2015. Easton joins his big brother, Dominic, 5, and big sister, Lillianah, 2.


Emilie Lamarche ’11 published her first peerreviewed article, titled “Retinoic acid promotes myogenesis in myoblasts by antagonizing transforming growth factor-beta signaling via C/EBPβ.” Emilie is in the graduate program in cellular and molecular medicine at the University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.



Amanda Jackson ’12 and Zachery Jacboson ’11 welcomed a son, Luke Matthew Jacobson, in October 2014.



Athletic Hall of Fame


Athletic Hall of Fame


On February 7, 2015, Notre Dame inducted its second class into the Athletic Hall of Fame.

Alumni honored include Anna Ball ’10, M.Ed. ’15 (softball); David Hilborn ’06 (men’s basketball); Molly Merrill ’09 (volleyball); and the 2005 Men’s Soccer Team (Players: Pirkka Kemppainen, Nick Jordan, Andrew Gray, Boris Smoljan, Mario Dimac, Jarod Miller, Chris Loughlin, Dave Howson, Andrew Carr, Michael Stern, Chris Logan, Darren Skudder, Tommy Goggins, David McCaig, James Wood, Davie Carmichael, Kevin McDowall, Steve Klick, Marty Pokorny, Vince Randazzo, Bradley Huwar, Robert Ayling, Christian Taske, Mohamet Sougoufara, Michael Stern, Martin Jones, Steve Belcastro, Robbie Leach, Eric Birnesser and Whitney Bergendahl.)

Nominations for the 2016 Hall of Fame may be submitted online at

Alumni "Games"


Alumni Games


On April 25, 2015, Notre Dame’s first-ever Alumni Swim Meet brought back to campus and the pool: Angela Belback ’14, Julia Bridgford ’11, Megan Chadowski ’15, Kelly Laughlin ’11, Caley Miller ’11, Brandy Pivonka Pristov ’13, Greg Pristov ’13, Ryan Rehmer ’13, Sarah Reichman ’14 and Emily Whittington ’12. To have a team alumni event, contact the Alumni Office at 216.373.5316 or email

E.g., 06/22/19
E.g., 06/22/19